Biscuit Company wins top award
November 27, 2011 12:00:00 AM
Biscuit Company of (Fiji) Limited walked away with the 2011 Prime Minister’s Exporter of the Year Award at the Sofitel Resort  and Spa in Denarau last night.

The company, a subsidiary of Flour Mills of Fiji (FMF) won the award for the second time. Their first win of the TFL sponsored award was in 2004.

FMF Group chairman Hari Punja was thrilled to receive the top award and said his team deserved the credit for the success.

“I am just the company chairman and most of the work is done by the group CEO and his team so all credit to them,” he said.

“I am absolutely thrilled with this award as it recognises our contribution to the export market.”

“We have been in the export market for over 20 years and this is the second time for Biscuit Company of Fiji to win this award.”

“This award is a motivation for the company to excel further in the export market," he added.

Meanwhile, Tropik Woods Industries Limited won the Large Exporter of the Year Award while the Medium Exporter of the Year Award was given to Nelesh Kamal Company, a grog exporting company from Labasa.

Standss (South Pacific) Limited won the Small Exporter of the Year Award and ANZ Pacific Operations Limited walked away with the Sevices Exporter of the Year Award.

The award winners were judged by a four member panel comprising of Mesake Nawari- Senior Fellow at USP, Makereta Ledua- Manager Revenue Collections, FRCA, Caroline Waqabaca- Chief Economist at the Reserve Bank of Fiji and Ilimeleki Kaiyanuyanu- Chief Economist at the Ministry of Primary Industries.

Full list of winners:

Special Awards
Fiji Export Council Unique Exporter Award -  Walt Smith International
Technix Bitumrn Pacific Ltd Exporter to NZ Award -  Ben’s Trading Limited.
FABC Exporter to Australia Award - Pure Fiji Export Limited.
HFC Exporter to Pacific Islands Award - Ram Sami and Sons Ltd.
Hamburg Sud/ W&G Exporter to Asia Award - Island Chilled Water.
Golden Manufacturers Exporter to USA Award - Food Processors Ltd.
FHL iTaukei Exporter Award - Mannah (Fiji) Limited.
RBF Agriculture Exporter Award - Mahen’s Export.
Hangton Pacific Ltd Fisheries Exporter Award - Pacific Tuna Limited.
Taiwan Timber Ltd Forestry Exporter Award - Forest Supplies Ltd.
FINTEL ICT Services Exporter Award - Oceania Customer Interactions Services Ltd.
Bank of Baroda Manufacturing Exporter Award - Pacific Batteries Ltd.
Vodafone Fiji Ltd Tourism Services Exporter Award -  Blue Lagoon Beach Resort.
BSP Group Special Recognition Award -  Mark One Apparel.

General Awards
Polynesian Shipping Line Ltd Small Exporter of the Year Award -  Stanss Limited.
LICI Medium Exporter of the Year Award - Nelesh Kamal Company.
ANZ Large Exporter of the Year Award -  Tropik Wood Industries Ltd.
Westpac Services Exporter Award -  ANZ Pacific Operations Ltd.

Main Award
TFL Prime Minister’s Exporter of the Year Award - Biscuit Company of (Fiji) Limited.

By Reginald Chandar